Commencement of Composers in the Classroom 2017/2018


In 2016-2017 over 40 young composers from schools throughout the island of Ireland came together to create a brand new canon of choral music as Composers in the Classroom. This month, Chamber Choir Ireland and the Contemporary Music Centre are delighted to commence the 2017/2018  iteration of the education project. Over the next four months, eight highly esteemed composers from Ireland, who are represented by CMC, will travel to schools in Counties Armagh, Cork, Down, Dublin, Fermanagh, Galway, and Louth to coach students in the creative process of composing for SATB choir. All student compositions will be recorded and a selection of works from participating students will be performed by Chamber Choir Ireland in a gala performance as part of the New Music Dublin Festival, taking place at the National Concert Hall in March 2018.

This project is delivered with the support of the Arts Council of Ireland and The National Lottery through the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

Composer Mentors: Deirdre McKay, Elaine Agnew, Alyson Barber, Irene Buckley, Eoghan Desmond, Neil Martin, Anne-Marie O’Farrell and Ian Wilson.