Next Generation Artists – Composers in the Classroom

Composers in the Classroom is a project which was originally conceived as the Composition Workshops project by CCI’s founding Artistic Director, Colin Mawby.  Revived in 2016, the project sees a selection of leading composers from Ireland, who are represented by Contemporary Music Centre, travel to 10 schools around the island of Ireland to coach students in the creative process of composing for an SATB (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass) choir. The composer’s visits are supplemented by a visit from a singer from Chamber Choir Ireland so as to give a performer’s perspective. All student compositions are then recorded by Chamber Choir Ireland and a selection of works from participating students are performed by Chamber Choir Ireland in a gala performance.

This project is jointly delivered by Chamber Choir Ireland and the Contemporary Music Centre with the support of the Arts Council of Ireland and The National Lottery through the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

For more information or to inquire about participation in future projects please contact or 015545210

A selection of images Composers in the Classroom since 2016 can be viewed in GALLERIES

You can watch a compilation from the participants in 2018 here:

Or you can listen in to the podcast recorded by RTÉ Lyric FM with participants, composers, conductor and singers in March 2019: