Seán Ó Riada Composition Competition 2013 winner

Solfa Carlile has has been announced as the winner of the 2013 Sean O Riada Composition Competition.

The Seán O’Riada Competition is a composition competition which invites the submission of new works from Irish composers. The competition is a collaboration between the Cork International Choral Festival and the National Chamber Choir of Ireland. The winning composition will be selected by a panel, comprising of composers and choral experts, and will become a featured work at the Seminar for New Choral Music (artists in residence – The National Chamber Choir of Ireland).

It will receive its premiere performance during the Festival at a Gala Concert given by the National Chamber Choir of Ireland, conducted by Paul Hillier, on Friday 3rd May, 2013. The composer of the work will be invited to attend the festival as its guest and play an active part in the Seminar session.

Previous winners of the competition include such well-known names as Rhona Clarke, Patrick Connolly, Séamas de Barra, Michael Holohan, Marian Ingoldsby, Simon MacHale, Michael McGlynn, Kevin O’Connell, and last year’s winner, Frank Corcoran.